Is this typical, or am I just a lazy pool owner?

brian4110

LifeTime Supporter
May 7, 2013
Pennsylvania
This is my first year as a pool owner. I inherited a pool with the house that as far as I can tell was maintained under contract by a local pool company. I opened up to a filthy pool and a severe ammonia problem this year. Thanks to this forum, I got it under control and it has been CLEAR SAILING ever since. It's been easier than I could have hoped for to manage my pool using the techniques and methods I've discovered on this forum.

But this leads me into my question. At the start of the summer, I was testing TC/pH every morning. On the weekend, I'd test FC/CC as well as TA. I was adding fine tuned amounts of chlorine according to the Pool Calculator. But as the summer progressed, I noticed that the results became so predictable that I started skipping tests. I'm at the point now where I'm testing TC/pH only about every 3 days, sometimes longer. I found that by adding 128oz of 8.25% liquid chlorine 2 out of every 3 days, my pool stays crystal clear and my numbers stay pegged right at my targets.

So my question is this...have I just gotten remarkably lucky or is this a typical long term scenario? I'm sure there are folks on this forum who would start to twitch if they went 3-4 days without testing their pool water. But I'm finding that I really don't need to. Is it going to bite me in the butt?

It's probably a lot more typical than you think. I test every couple of days, but it wouldn't bother me if I had to go for several days without testing. Yeah, it may bite us one day if for instance something failed, but even if it does we know what to do about it. The biggest question is, is that a risk you're willing to take?

:goodjob: on getting things figured out. :mrgreen: