Is this algae? Recuring problem

G

Split from Is this algae numbers don't seem to support there being any?
Hi,

I'm new to the TFP community. I am in the 3rd yr of above ground pool ownership. (We never had problems the 1st two yrs) I, too, like jessosby above, keep seeing stuff in the ridges. I dove down and tried to touch it and it dissolved in my fingers... I thought it was sand but there is no grit.. nothing to hold onto.

We have been battling algae(?) off and on all summer. Whatever is happening seems to be very cyclical. The water gets cloudy for a couple days, turns greenish, we shock it, vacuum and then use clarifier. The pool becomes clear again for about a week only to repeat all over again.

Hi, welcome to TFP! Yes it probably is dead algae settling on the floor of the pool. You need to do the slam process on your pool, but first we need a complete set of test numbers to help you get started. If you don't have your own test kit, one of the best investments you can make in your pool is a high quality FAS/DPD test kit such as the Taylor K2006 or the TF 100. The test kit will enable you to do your own testing and will test FC values > than 5ppm, which you will need during the slam process.

What have you been using to chlorinate the pool?

We have been buying the powder shock from the pool store. I believe it is 99% active ingredient (trich...something).

I have been reading the BBB section... So I can just buy simple bleach from the store?? Wow.

We use test strips so I cant provide any numbers yet. I will look into buying the test you recommend. But I can tell you that when we take water to the pool store.. last time he said our chemicals were right in line... it was just a problem w/ algae.

BTW... I haven't figured the signature stuff out yet but:
24ft round above ground pool.. w/ sand filter.
Cincinnati OH (and summer has been a cooler summer w/ less swimming overall compared to last yr)
ThX!