25-30 teens coming! How to prepare????

brmommy

LifeTime Supporter
Jul 21, 2013
Southeast Ohio
Okay. I'm still new to this pool stuff. I'm using BBB and have been keeping the FC around 5-6ppm. My son is having 25-30 friends over Friday night for a cookout and swim party. Do I need to do anything special before having that many people in the pool? I keep a solar cover on other than when I am in it. I don't seem to use much bleach currently. The pool hasn't been getting much use other than by me. In fact this will be the first time my son has even been in the pool. :roll: I think the fact that girls will be here too is the only reason he'll be getting in it. :wink:

Just want to make sure that everyone is safe. Any recommendations before and after this party?

Raise the FC up. It is safe to swim up to shock level for your CYA, but you likely do not need that much. Maybe 10ppm. Then check it after everyone leaves and maybe bump it a little again.

And try to stop the girls from creating an oil slick with tanning oils ;)

I'd raise the FC to the top of the recommended range for your CYA right before the party and again right after. You also want to make sure the pH is in the low 7's. a lot of splashing is going to raise it a little.

If you'll post a full set of test results we may see something else, but without test results that's all I have to offer. :)

jblizzle said:
It is safe to swim up to shock level for your CYA
And try to stop the girls from creating an oil slick with tanning oils ;)
Personally I would take (shock level)-1 and target that, I'm assuming you're talking about an afternoon + evening party.

LOL on preventing oil slicks, a friend of ours made an oil slick, it was at 5:30PM! Not only did he feel the need to wear it (sunblock), but he doesn't know when to quit applying. First time I had ever seen someone make a trail.