Floated liner - what next??

Lowarea

LifeTime Supporter
Apr 4, 2013
upstate NY - Horseheads
After heavy rains all week and a big down pour two nights ago I came home yesterday to a floated liner. (see pics) I've reasearched on this site, but I didn't come away with a consensus on what to do next. It seems some say wait and it may go back, others suggest trying to pump water out from behind it. The pool water never went over the top of the liner, no leaks

This is my first year with a pool and don't have a firm grasp on what lies beneath the liner. Judging from others pictures, this case of floated liner doesn't seem too bad.?

We've had lot of rain this year and I've been happy with the drainage around the house and pool but it was simply too much rain. The ground is heavy clay and is slow to drain.

Should I be intervening now trying to smooth out the liner, or wait and see?

If the liner does go back into place but leaves wrinkles, does it have to be smoothed out and how best to do it?

Can we use the pool as it is now?

not sure if pics will post??
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-fjJm ... /liner.jpg
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-9fzR ... 1%255D.jpg

I don't think there is an absolute correct answer. If it were my pool, I would intervene and try to gently assist the liner back into place as the groundwater subsides.

No guarantee of success but that's the path I would take

Personally i would try and push the liner back as soon as possible. Getting the liner back to the base of the wall before the water gets out is very important if you don't want permanent wrinkles.
If the liner is floated around the drain, skimmer or stair strip you could already have stretched the screw holes out which could cause a leak.