Chlorine too high

lsaad

Jul 30, 2013
Hi all,

My daughter had a serious facial surgery this summer and hasn't been able to swim all summer. She is finally all healed and got the ok to swim yesterday, but now our chlorine level is too high. Argh. She was so looking forward to swimming so I feel terrible! I'm new to pool maintenance so I'd love your input on how to quickly fix this and get my daughter swimming as soon as possible! Many thanks in advance

Here are our stats:

In ground pool, 20,000 gallons, DE filter system, using "Taylor Complete FAS-DPD chlorine" test kit system to test

Current numbers:

FC = 7.5 (down from 8 yesterday after running filter all night, getting rid of some water and adding fresh -- maybe a few inches worth)
CC = .5
PH = 7.2 (up from 7.0 yesterday after adding soda ash)
TA = 40
CH = 120
CYA = Out of CYA regent so could not take this number, will go to store to get more

Welcome to TFP! :wave:

I'm willing to bet you are working off the old numbers that say 1-3 is good? That has been around forever, since long before CYA was studied and it's effects on chlorine was established. This chart shows the proper free chlorine levels based on CYA level. It is completely safe to swim in any level up to the shock level on that chart. Unless you have literally no CYA whatsoever in your pool (very, very unlikely) your FC is completely safe to swim in. So don't let her miss another minute due to outdated numbers!

You could stand to bring your pH and TA up a touch though. Judging by that do you use tablets to chlorinate? If so then definitely get a CYA reading soon. It's important to keep an eye on that when you use tablets.

Hi! Thank you both so much for your quick response -- you have made my daughter's day :) We are heating up the pool now and jumping in this afternoon -- she is thrilled!!

And thank you for the updated info about FC. Yes, I was using the old info -- I had no idea that was wrong.