Filling pool as we speak, now what?

Jul 28, 2013
St. Louis, MO
I am sure there is a post somewhere that has all the answers to my questions. But the 2 3 pages i've read through they are not there. I had a 30' cabana AGP installed this weekend. I am an absolute beginner pool owner! I have 2 hoses filling it up as we speak, and am running the electric for the pump tomorrow morning! What I am asking is whats next? Do i shock the pool? I understand I have to buy a better test kit and list my numbers on here, but when is the pool swimmable? What do I put in out of the startup kit that came with the pool? What other information do you need to help me out? I just want a crystal clear pool! Also, with the aqua smart filtration system can I still start the BBB program? Any tips, info, advice on owning a pool would be much appreciated!

What you have to add depends on what your current results are. If your pH is high, you will need acid. If your pH is low, you will need Borax. If your pH is good, you don't have to add anything. You will need to add chlorine (bleach, no solid forms of chlorine), enough to get you to 2 ppm. What are the chemicals you have for your start up program? Some of them you may need, some of them may cause more harm than help.

How long will it take to get a test kit in from these sites? Can i wait to test until one comes in or do I need to go to local pool store to get one immediately? Could the pool be swimmable by wednesday? The chemicals provided are :
4 1lb bags Conditioner
1 lb bag Ph minus
1 lb bag Ph plus
1 lb bag Blast
32 oz jug of pool perfect+phosfree

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support
Jfoeller0103:

Welcome to TFP!