Salt water virgin

Jun 23, 2012
St Pete FL
Have a neighbor leaving town for work and is going to rent his house. Has asked me to take care of his in ground pool which is a salt water pool. I think it is pebble tec. I have no experience with cleaning, and testing salt pool. I haven't gone over yet to get the 411 on any of the equipment. So... not sure about type of generator or pump. Also do not know size or gallons yet. What other things should I ask about or look for when I do go over?
Next question is do you use a different type of kit for testing the water? I do not think so but just want to check. I did see here where the ranges for each level is a bit different than chlorine pools.
As far as the amount of salt in the water..there should be a readout on the pump or generator that tells me that number right????
How do I know what is the normal amount of salt to have in the pool. I am guessing that is dependant on the size and type of pool finish??
THANKS you guys always pull thru for me as I am sure you will again. :wave:

lilpam14 said:
Have a neighbor leaving town for work and is going to rent his house. Has asked me to take care of his in ground pool which is a salt water pool. I think it is pebble tec.

That is really nice of you, how long will you be doing this, rest of this summer?

lilpam14 said:
Next question is do you use a different type of kit for testing the water? I do not think so but just want to check. I did see here where the ranges for each level is a bit different than chlorine pools.

What test do you currently use? Ranges are a bit different. Do you know how he tests his water?

lilpam14 said:
As far as the amount of salt in the water..there should be a readout on the pump or generator that tells me that number right????
How do I know what is the normal amount of salt to have in the pool. I am guessing that is dependant on the size and type of pool finish??
THANKS you guys always pull thru for me as I am sure you will again. :wave: