How long should it take CC to drop when SLAMing?

skynyrd01810

LifeTime Supporter
Jul 12, 2013
Hi Folks,

This is my first time SLAMing, so I apologize if I'm just being impatient, but I am not seeing a drop in the CC.

I started the process a little over 48 hours ago. The water was clear to begin with, but I have had a consistent problem with green algae forming on my liner, as was the case Friday. I found this wonderful site, ordered a TF100 test kit and began the SLAMing process.

The reason for my inquiry is that the liner has been spotless and the water crystal clear since the morning after I started treating. The first night's OCLT was 1.0 and the second night was 0.5. I guess I was expecting a bigger drop if the chlorine was working on a problem. Am I just being impatient? Below are the results of my last test.

FC 20.0 (have kept it between 20 and 24 since starting the SLAM)
CC 4.0
CYA 50
PH 7.4
TA 100
CH 300

The filter is running 7X24. I backwashed and replaced the DE a week ago and have seen very little rise in pressure since. I've brushed the liner daily and there is no visible sediment in the pool.

My next thought was to disassemble the filter, clean the grids and replace the DE with the thought that there may be organic mater trapped in the filter, but I thought I would see a bigger drop in the OCLT if that was the case.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Welcome to the forum. :lol:

It is not uncommon for CC's to actually go up initially when you begin to SLAM.

That yours is still quite high indicates the FC is still combining with contaminants to form the CC's.

Time, sunlight and continued high FC levels will bring them down to the required .5 ppm very soon.

Your pool is not covered, is it?

Have you noticed a psi increase on your filter since you began to SLAM?

Thanks for the quick reply duraleigh.

No, the pool is not covered and I have not seen an increase in psi. I will continue the process and see if it goes down as the week goes on.