Test Kit Came Today! 1st results - NOW WHAT?!

Jul 8, 2013
Grenada, MS
My test kit (TF-100) FINALLY came in the mail today, and I have my first test results (below).
But now I'm not sure what to do next....????? Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

FC = 11.5
CC = 0
pH = 7.2
TA = 140
CH = 50
CYA = 35ish (this one is really hard to read!)

I'm new to pool chemistry. My pool has only been up for about a week and I have NO IDEA WHAT I'M DOING!!!!

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!! :wave:

Hmmm ... well ... I would suggest :swim: since all the numbers look good, assuming the water is clear ;)

Sure the FC is a little high, but that will come down. Just make sure you keep it above 3ppm at all times based on your CYA level.

I assume you have read through Pool School a few times?

Duraleigh, my water looks clear.

I was a little worried about the FC numbers because it is SO high! I didn't know if it was safe.

Yes. I have read pool school a few times but I need to read it a few more. I've been doing the best I could with the aquachem test strips from Walmart. I used those to "guess" my levels and then I put my estimates into the pool calculator as best I could and went from there.

I put in bleach, baking soda, and borax. I also shocked it a few times and have been using a floater with pucks to try and get some CYA into the water. The CYA test is REALLY hard to read. I hope it gets easier with practice. Best I could tell, mine was between 30 and 40. Is that high enough? Do I need to keep using the pucks for a while until it goes up a little? I know when it reaches 40 or 50 that I need to stop using them.

Should I be concerned about the low CH (50)? I read that its not as important in a vinyl pool. I just want to make sure because that seems really low!

Do I need to trying and bring my pH (7.2) up? Is there a way to do that without also bringing up the TA? My TA is already 140 and that seems high to me. Should I be worried about that?