CYA test

tcasto

LifeTime Supporter
Jun 25, 2013
Bucks County PA
Hi and thanks again for being an excellent resource for all things pool related! :goodjob:

I am a newbie determined to take care of our new pool myself and have been reading pool school and the board posts. I have a Taylor 2006 kit.
My CYA test results have dropped over the past week - we did have rain on and off for 5 days up until yesterday but I dont think that would account for it. From what I have read the CYA never changes - draining the pool is the only thing that changes it.
So how has the result gone from 95 to less than 80 ? I redid the test several times to make sure and there is a definite change.
And an interim test midweek showed CYA of 90

Last week results
FC 7.5
PH 7
TA 90
CH 150
CYA 95

Today
FC 12
PH 7.4
TA 100
CH 140
CYA 70-80

And a note for anyone else out there with a Intellichlor SWG who cannot adjust the output on the unit - I was able to adjust the controls using the menu on the main control panel. It may sound stupid to alot of you out there that I did not discover this earlier, but I am new at this and thought someone else might be in the same predicament. The pool dude set it to 60% output when he installed the pool last fall. I tried to pay attention to the littany of directions back then but they must have fallen out of my head after Halloween.
I assumed that I could adjust the levels by following the directions where the flashing lights are on the unit. I pressed the buttons to reduce the output to 40% and it would jump back to 60% - I thought it was defective or I was doing something wrong. It turns out that those buttons are overridden by the main control panel. I wish I had discovered this a couple of weeks ago - it would have saved me some headaches. :hammer:

This afternoon I reduced the output to 20% in an effort to lower the FC a bit. If the CYA is actually 70 - 80 , my FC is too high

Any thoughts on the CYA test and FC levels?