CYA Key to Clarity- Wow!

Jun 22, 2013
Mobile AL
I am new at this but learning quickly. Can't believe how CYA effects Chlorine and how little pool stores talk about it. Guess they wouldn't be in business if they did.

I bought the wrong test kit from leslies and am hoping to use it for now and then buy the more expensive one when I use up these chemicals. I bought the dpd kit, but not the fas-dpd. It also doesn't test CYA. So, I am going to make those pool stores that robbed me help me with testing until I finish off this kit, However, had a rude awakening with a store last night. Tell me if I am right or wrong:

I tested: FC: 5, PH 7.5, Alkalinity is about 100. I had added borax 12 hours earlier and it showed an increase in ph from 7.2 to 7.5. Felt good, but once I started learning what CYA does, well, I still had pucks in my chlorinator. I turned the chlorinator to 0 to keep more cya from entering. We get hot sun and lots of rain here in South Alabama. Plenty scheduled for the next 2 days and last night. That's why I increased the PH to keep it from dropping to low after rain. Or, at least that was my understanding. Doesn't rain contain Acid? Doesn't it lower PH?

Pool store numbers:
FC: .74ppm
TC: 2.3ppm
CC: 1.56ppm
PH: 7
Hardness: 0
Alkalinity: 81ppm
CYA: 67 ppm
Copper 0
Iron: 0
Borate: 42ppm

They said everything was fine, just add 4lbs of shock and wait for the rain. The guy said the rain would increase the PH?! Reading the computer instructions: Add 1lb 3oz of Soda, Add Calcium Chloride, add Chlorine shock, add 2 tablets trichlor.

Wow! He ignored everything the computer said except for the shock.

Needless to say, I won't do any of it! I only wanted the CYA numbers and to verify what I am seeing on my own tests. I also have another cheaper test kit and strips. They agreed with my test results above.