Please help the husband with OCD.

Jun 4, 2012
NW CT
I have a few questions since I'm new to this. The deal was I build it and you maintain it. Well she has been working more than me lately so I have started to get more involved maintaining it to help out. But it is driving me nuts! We had the algae problem a few weeks back and it took a few weeks to clear up.........almost IMHO. The deep end just won't quite clear up all the way to me.

On Sunday I said to my wife I think it looks a tad cloudy on the edges by the coping. No it's the shadows she said. Monday I get up and same thing. She said the chemicals are perfect it's your head idk. So Monday afternoon I got in it with googles and there was some gunk floating on bottom with what looked like snot here and there along with it and also some spots of green on the coping on the liner. Not much just a little bit. This is what it looked like over a month ago before we had the big mess and I said something to her about it. Sooooooo I got the Vac out and vaced up all the Crud on the bottom and then I brushed and brushed and brushed and then put de in the filter when I got out. Took me 2 hours. I told her about it and she said she would check it when she got home. She didn't get home from work till 10 pm and She said this morning that she checked it this morning around 6 am and it was 10.5 FC. Ok. So at 10 after reading all the stuff on here about testing and watching the videos I tested it for the very first time ever. It was 4 FC :( so I added enough to bring it up to 7, I think, because that is where she wants it kept. So I got in it and looked with googles. It all looked good. I started to brush and now could see some greenish cloud coming off the brush. So I scrubbed and scrubbed again. Got out and checked the FC. It was 7. Yay me. Right where I wanted it to go.

So with all that background my questions are: