Borax safety vs soda ash

May 31, 2013
New Jersey
I am just learning about the BBB method and bought some borax to have on hand as our pH is looking a tad low.

Before using it, however, I just started researching borax safety in pools and not coming up with a lot of reassurance about it being safe. It sounds like it has not been studied enough yet. I have two small boys, a 5 year old and 16 month old, and I am limit their exposure to chemicals as much as I can. Can anyone weigh in on the safety of borax? Is soda ash safer?

Richard320 said:
If you're worried about it, don't use it. If you hunt for it, you might find Arm & Hammer Washing Soda in the grocery stores. It's 85% Sodium Carbonate.

http://www.acehardware.com/product/inde ... Id=3549579
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Arm-Hammer-Su ... z/19407690

Thank you for those links, Richard. If I use soda ash, will it increase the TA as well? Really not looking to do that as when last checked the TA has been steady at around 100. A slight increase in the TA won't hurt, just as long as it won't be a significant increase. Our pH is about 7.2, maybe slightly lower right now, so looking to increase that to 7.5. Hopefully, going by the pool calculator, whatever amount of soda ash is needed to make that adjustment won't overdo it on our TA.

I agree with Richard; you should use whatever makes you comfortable.

Whether a substance is grown, mined (as is Borax), or chemically compounded (as I suspect Washing Soda is) may not make a difference, for a young small child is certainly more likely to be affected by any chemical, mineral, or organic substance.

Anything and everything, if absorbed or consumed in high amounts, is toxic. Unfortunately, that includes chocolate, healthy foods, and even water.

Did you know that Baby Shampoo doesn't sting babys' eyes because the manufacturers add a substance to numb the eyes, in the event the shampoo gets in there?