Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Aquatrol swg fuse blows

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Aquatrol swg fuse blows

    Hi all,
    newbie here with a big problem. I have power to my aqua trol. It runs the timer and pump, but when I switch it to auto or super chlorinate, it blows the 20 amp fuse. Why?
    underwaterstuff-24' agp, hayward pump and sand filter, goldline aquatrol swg, solar 8'X20' heater.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    You need to figure out if its your pump thats blowing the fuse or the aquatrol. Try plugging the pump into a outlet instead of the aquatrol and see if it will run without blowing a fuse. The aquatrol should still operate if the pump is plugged into a different power source. What is the amp draw of your pump, it should be on the service label of the motor.
    Patriot Arcadia 15' round 52". Pentair Clean and Clear 100 sqft Cartridge filter, 1HP Optiflow pump, Goldline Aquatrol SWG. 2 - 4'x20' solar panels roof mounted. All rigid PVC plumbing. Resin Solar reel with 8mil Thermo-tex solar cover. 14 x 12 deck.

    Ovation 15'x24'x52'' AG. Pentair System 3 150 SQ foot cartridge filter, 1 1/2 HP pump.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Blown fuse

    Why didn't I think of that? Thanks will try it. That is bad too, because I am an electrician. Will let you know. Thanks again for jaring my thick noggin.
    underwaterstuff-24' agp, hayward pump and sand filter, goldline aquatrol swg, solar 8'X20' heater.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Blown fuse-Please help!!!

    Nope. I plugged the pump into a seperate cord. Now they are on different circuits. The pump is not plugged into the aquatrol. The aquatrol has power, and would operate the pump with the timer or on all the time, before I seperated them. Even now when I slide the auto or super chlorinate switch, it gives a flashing red no flow light for about fifteen seconds, then it goes off, the chlorinate light comes on for about five seconds and the fuse blows and no power to the unit.
    Anyone else had this problem. Please help. Thanks.
    underwaterstuff-24' agp, hayward pump and sand filter, goldline aquatrol swg, solar 8'X20' heater.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Blown fuse-Please help!!!

    Well, I found a wire pinched behind a screw, but after repairing and checking the rest of the wiring for damage, the fuse still blows! This is a brand new unit. What the !>"} is wrong? Could the power supply be bad?
    underwaterstuff-24' agp, hayward pump and sand filter, goldline aquatrol swg, solar 8'X20' heater.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    The Cell

    Ok. The controller must be ok. I replaced the fuse (for the fifth time) and unplugged the cell cord. Then I turned the unit on and switched it to auto. No blown fuse. I just got a no flow and check cell flashing leds. So, it must be the cell or the cell cord that is bad. Anyone else had this trouble?
    underwaterstuff-24' agp, hayward pump and sand filter, goldline aquatrol swg, solar 8'X20' heater.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    I have only had mine for 4 days and everything has been great. I would call godline/hayward since it is a new unit. They have a 3 year warranty. They are pretty helpful.

    The no flow light is normal. I would have to say it sounds like the cell or the cord. When you said a damaged wire was that the cell cord? Also when are you blowing the fuse in the aquatrol or a fuse that feeds power to the outlet the aquatrol plugs into?
    Patriot Arcadia 15' round 52". Pentair Clean and Clear 100 sqft Cartridge filter, 1HP Optiflow pump, Goldline Aquatrol SWG. 2 - 4'x20' solar panels roof mounted. All rigid PVC plumbing. Resin Solar reel with 8mil Thermo-tex solar cover. 14 x 12 deck.

    Ovation 15'x24'x52'' AG. Pentair System 3 150 SQ foot cartridge filter, 1 1/2 HP pump.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    874
    Check the cell for short circuit. Maybe there is something stuck between the plates.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Aquatrol swg fuse blows

    Ok. Will check the plates.
    Thanks.
    BTW, the wire that was pinched was not the wire to the cell.
    underwaterstuff-24' agp, hayward pump and sand filter, goldline aquatrol swg, solar 8'X20' heater.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Indiantown, FL
    Posts
    58
    I hope you have better luck with yours then what both me and my brother had with our Aquatrol units. We had nothing but problems with our units. We both bought them new and mine is about 3 years old now. My brother got rid of his last year and bought something else. I am going to try and do the same this year.

    Eddie
    Intex 16' X 32' X 52" 14,364 galllon AGP, 16" sand filter & SWG, Pool Rover & Sunrise Journey SPA 320 gallons, TechniChlor 110 SWG

  11. Back To Top    #11
    What issues did you have with your aquatrols?
    Patriot Arcadia 15' round 52". Pentair Clean and Clear 100 sqft Cartridge filter, 1HP Optiflow pump, Goldline Aquatrol SWG. 2 - 4'x20' solar panels roof mounted. All rigid PVC plumbing. Resin Solar reel with 8mil Thermo-tex solar cover. 14 x 12 deck.

    Ovation 15'x24'x52'' AG. Pentair System 3 150 SQ foot cartridge filter, 1 1/2 HP pump.

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Aquatrol swg fuse blows

    Ok,Ok,Ok,
    I removed the cell from the pool to inspect it and guess what, a pine needle found its way into the cell, apparently causing the fuse in the control box to blow. Now I am an Electrician, and i have seen fuses blow, I've seen transformers blow up, lord knows i've been shocked more than once, and I know that water and electric don't mix, so how does water flow through those plates, but a pine needle shorts the plates out?
    Never mind, it is working now. Thank you Strannik.
    underwaterstuff-24' agp, hayward pump and sand filter, goldline aquatrol swg, solar 8'X20' heater.

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Indiantown, FL
    Posts
    58
    The main problem we are having is that the unit says the salt level 2000ppm and the true salt level in the pool is 3200ppm and of course since the unit thinks the salt level is low it stops working. I personally have had six cells replaced, I have had a technician come out and look at the unit (which I had to pay for because it was not covered under their warranty) and it would work for a while and then the problem would start all over again. Now I am stuck with probably the most expensive pump timer I have ever seen. Last week my salt level in my pool was 3200ppm and the unit was reading 400ppm. Goldline/Hayward customer support is saying that my phosphates or the water chemistry is the problem but my number are perfect.

    Eddie
    Intex 16' X 32' X 52" 14,364 galllon AGP, 16" sand filter & SWG, Pool Rover & Sunrise Journey SPA 320 gallons, TechniChlor 110 SWG

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Indiantown, FL
    Posts
    58

    Re: Aquatrol swg fuse blows

    Quote Originally Posted by bgshemi
    Ok,Ok,Ok,
    I removed the cell from the pool to inspect it and guess what, a pine needle found its way into the cell, apparently causing the fuse in the control box to blow. Now I am an Electrician, and i have seen fuses blow, I've seen transformers blow up, lord knows i've been shocked more than once, and I know that water and electric don't mix, so how does water flow through those plates, but a pine needle shorts the plates out?
    Never mind, it is working now. Thank you Strannik.
    I am glad to hear that you got it fixed and that it was something simple.

    Eddie
    Intex 16' X 32' X 52" 14,364 galllon AGP, 16" sand filter & SWG, Pool Rover & Sunrise Journey SPA 320 gallons, TechniChlor 110 SWG

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Aquatrol swg fuse blows

    Thanks Eddie, but now I am having the same trouble as you. I have a 24' agp and my pool guy estimated about 10 bags of salt which I added 3 days ago. It dissolved and the pump has been running 24 hours a day since. Today I resolved my fuse situation, but now it won't generate chlorine because it says the salt ppm is 700!!! I know I have enough salt. What's up?
    underwaterstuff-24' agp, hayward pump and sand filter, goldline aquatrol swg, solar 8'X20' heater.

  16. Back To Top    #16
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887
    Have you tried the Aqua Trol recalibration procedure?
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    874

    Re: Aquatrol swg fuse blows

    Quote Originally Posted by bgshemi
    Now I am an Electrician, and i have seen fuses blow, I've seen transformers blow up, lord knows i've been shocked more than once, and I know that water and electric don't mix, so how does water flow through those plates, but a pine needle shorts the plates out?
    Never mind, it is working now. Thank you Strannik.
    You are welcome

    What happens is that water's resistance is higher than that of a fuse, hence main load is on the cell, and everything is fine. When you introduce needle, the resistance of the cell becomes virtually 0, so the main load shifts to a part with highest resistance - fuse - hence it blows.

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Aquatrol swg fuse blows

    The cell wasn't plugged in. Hence the fuse didn't blow after I removed the pine needle. After realizing this and plugging in the cell, it still blows the fuse. Yes I'am an idiot. Back to square one!!
    underwaterstuff-24' agp, hayward pump and sand filter, goldline aquatrol swg, solar 8'X20' heater.

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    874
    lol fair enough.
    What's your salt level?
    Also try one more thing - set the output to a minimum and see if it blows then.

    Btw just so we are clear, the fuse that is blown is on a secondary side, right?

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    874
    Also, which fuse do you put in? Chlorinators are supposed to have slow blow fuses, because there is large inrush current on startup.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •