Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Hose to water return leaks

1. Back To Top    #1

Hose to water return leaks

This is my second hose, I am using a vaccum hose that comes from my solar panel to return the warm water to the pool. It has a small steady leak, but when I went to use the Polaris pool cleaner today it came shooting out. I need about 25 foot hose and that is why I am using the vaccum hose which my pool place suggested. It is coming out around where the hose fits into the attachement, not at the pool itself. Is there an adapter I might use, hey I got desperate and put plumbing putty around it but I doubt if that is a permanent solution. as you can tell I am new at this and do not know the terminolgy of connections, so I hope this makes sense.
    Tysnest

18x33 AGP
    16000 gallons
    Waterford 1 1/2 HP/2speed
    Waterford High Rate Sand Filter 21 inch tank
    SunGrabber Solar Panels 3 2x20 ft panels
    New at this pool and clueless

2. Back To Top    #2

Well I fixed the problem, but thought I would pass it on to others how I did it. I put aquarium silicone on it and covered it heavy. It says to put it on a dry item, but that was impossible without draining some water out of the pool, so I just kept layering it on and let it set overnight and NO LEAK NOW. I went to the hardware store and bought it for 6 where the pool place wanted 16, just said aquarium versus pool. I believe it will be permanent but time will tell but it is solved for now.
    Tysnest

18x33 AGP
    16000 gallons

3. Back To Top    #3

hose to jet still leaking