Considering Hayward SWG

May 24, 2013
South Florida
My family wants to switch to a saltwater system. I want to our local pool store (Pinch A Penny) and the guy said the best system they sell is the Hayward SwimPure Plus.

I'd estimate our pool to be 15,000-20,000 gallons but I'll need to do measurements to find out a more accurate approximation. I've read through this forum and see you recommend 1.5-3x for the cell capacity. Therefore, I'd go with the highest the store sells (40k).

Is Hayward a good brand? How about this particular model? Here it is on Hayward's website: http://www.hayward-pool.com/pdf/literature/SwimPurePlus_TriFold.pdf

I was quoted $1,150 for the system (not including installation costs).

FYI - My goal is to read through your forum and learn how to monitor and maintain the pool myself. However, I am not technical or much of a handyman so I really need someone else to install the system. That is why I went into my local pool store to find out what they sell. I see that you all advocate doing your own pool maintenance and that is my goal...I just need to learn how!

Oh, if it helps we live in Florida - outside West Palm Beach.

So...do you think this is a good buy? Is Hayward a reliable brand for a saltwater system?

JasonLion said:
Welcome to TFP!

The Hayward SWG's are my favorite in the middle price range. I've seen better prices than the one you are quoting, for example here. That is an Aqua Rite, which is identical except for labeling.

Thank you for the welcome and for the fast response!

That's good to hear that Hayward is a great brand. It's your favorite in the middle price range...wow. It seems pricey to me but I'm new to SWG.

Should I consider a more expensive brand or will this Hayward do the job? What if my pool ends up being 20,000 gallons? This 40k system will still work okay?