First test result with TF-100. Advice???

May 19, 2013
Gadsden, Alabama
Ok... I got my test kit in today.

FC - 1 ppm
CC - 1 ppm
pH - less than 6.8
TA - 30
CYA - 90

Pool was blue and cloudy... I couldn't see the bottom of the deep end.... started scooping with the leaf rake and wow.... probably got 50 lbs of leaves out. Now the water is green and swampy again. I kept scooping until I was getting no leaves... so most are out. I started draining the pool to lower the CYA... I plan on replacing about half the water. It's going to take a while b/c I had to start using a water hose to drain it. I was just pumping to waste... but the neighbors down the hill started to complain after I drained about 2500 gallons. :oops:

I got on the pool calc and figured I need a lot of Baking soda, Borax, and of course good ol bleach. Any input or advice is definately appreciated... this is my first time!!

Welcome to the forum. :lol:

I would start by getting your TA to around 60 or higher. Use the pool calculator for dosage amount and use baking soda.

Next, retest your pH (it may have moved just a little) and then calculate and dose enough 20 Mule Team Borax to get your pH up around 7.4. Test an hour after you add this and redose if you are lower than 7.2

Now read "How to Shock Your Pool" up in Pool School. Follow that article precisely (KEEP YOUR CHLORINE AT SHOCK VALUE) and your pool will begin to clear.

Keep us informed of your progress.

duraleigh said:
Welcome to the forum. :lol:

I would start by getting your TA to around 60 or higher. Use the pool calculator for dosage amount and use baking soda.

Next, retest your pH (it may have moved just a little) and then calculate and dose enough 20 Mule Team Borax to get your pH up around 7.4. Test an hour after you add this and redose if you are lower than 7.2

Now read "How to Shock Your Pool" up in Pool School. Follow that article precisely (KEEP YOUR CHLORINE AT SHOCK VALUE) and your pool will begin to clear.