Filter pressure doubles in less than 24hours

ARSayeed

LifeTime Supporter
May 4, 2013
Dove Canyon, CA
Hello. This is my first time posting on TFP. See my signature for details of equipment.

My pressure is running very high (30+). I backwashed yesterday morning at 10am for 3 mins and then rinse for 30 sec. Cleaned out skimmer baskets and pump filter basket. During backwash, pressure is 11 psi. After backwash, pressure is 13 psi. By 10am today, pressure is 31 psi. The sand was changed in April of this year. Pressure was still increasing. After I found TFP, I read pool school and changed the pressure gauge and a new pump filter basket. Nothing seems to be working to keep the pressure from more than doubling every 24 hours. My heater won't work when the pressure gets above 22. The LCD screen on the heater says PRS - CLEAN FILTER/STRAINER.

The water was clear yesterday but is cloudy today. We had a lot of rain storms last night so that might be why it's cloudy today.

TC = 2
FC = 3
CC = 1
PH = 7.6
TA = 80
CH = don't have test for this
CYA = don't have test for this
Borates = don't use

Please help!!

Thanks,
ARS

Cloudy water is indicative of a chemistry problem. Without knowing the CYA level, it's anybody's guess if the FC level is adequate. My guess is it's not. You're filtering out algae too small to see with the naked eye, but more is growing to replace it, hence the filter being overwhelmed. You need to get on top of it and start killing it faster than it can reproduce if you ever want to have crystal clear sparkly water.

[center:1ks521rv][/center:1ks521rv]

+1 what Richard320 said....your filter is doing it's job. Whether you can see it or not, you've got junk in your pool, almost surely algae, that is filling up your filter. Almost always from inadequate chlorine.

Can you post a set of test results and tell us how you are chlorinating your pool?