Water Appears Balanced But Pool Water Cloudy

Mar 30, 2013
My pool is making me very confused. My test results are coming up just fine. ph is very slightly higher than usual at about 7.4. It is normally around 7.2. Chlorine is 3 ppm. Calcium is fine as well.I regularly maintain with a maintenance dose of algaecide once a week. Everything appears to be balanced, but the pool is still cloudy. The filter has been running just about 24/7 for the last three days, but the problem isn't going away. The pool isn't so cloudy that I can't see the floor. I can still see the pool floor it just looks "faded" because of the water clarity. What could be causing this? Is it safe to swim if the water is reading balanced, or should I stay out?

CH...that is Calcium Hardness right? I am still new to all of this. hahaha Also, I am using strips right now. I ordered a better kit, but I haven't received it yet. So, I am stuck with this until it arrives.

Your FC is too low for your cya level. You should not have let it drop below 8 ppm FC. My guess is that you have algae. First thing to do is reduce cya down to 50 ppm by doing a partial drain refill.

Linen is right - your FC was too low for your CYA. Correct as linen suggested.

A couple of other details...
klandaverde said:
FC=3 and Total Chlorine is 2
This cannot be. If FC=3, then TC has to equal at least 3. FC+CC=TC. Is it possible that the "Total Chlorine" of 2 is the Combined Chlorine amount? That result would be consistent with an algae or other organic type of outbreak and indicates the need to shock the pool using the Shock Process (see link in my sig). You will need a good test kit to do this properly.

klandaverde said:
I regularly maintain with a maintenance dose of algaecide once a week.
This is totally unnecessary and is draining your wallet. Depending on what type of algaecide you are using, it could also be adding metals to the pool water and that can result in stains.