Going along with an inground?

May 7, 2013
HOLY HOT am I mad

I have been dreaming and planing for a pool for at least two years. My husband finally gave in, since we are planning our backyard, he said OK get a pool, you always wanted it.

WELL..I started calling different companies and since I have been a crazy researcher, mainly by lurking on this site..I am so disappointed in how they even over the phone try to sell you things. I called 10 different companies and only qualified 3 to actually visit my house. I am so discouraged.

So, now I am thinking about running this install on my own...just incase they come and say crazy things. I always want a contingency plan.

Here is what I was thinking... please understand, yes we have a budget, but its almost about integirty at this point. I have no idea how a PB can say 40k for a 18x38 IG vinyl pool, without any extras, not even a heater!

I may do this or I may not. If I do, I will contract every part. ( I have already called concrete, electrician, plumbers)

I want to make sure Im not missing anything.

We are wanting a 18x36 or 38 depending on drawings. Plus a patio.. I will post pool specs either once I order or the PB submit their bids.

Here is what I was thinking it would take to DIY it... our yard is flat, easy access and I can get permits

1. permits
2 Order Kit- I know what I want, but will run it past everyone
3. Excavation
4. Plumbing, Electriction
5. Concrete

Am I missing any sub contractor?

Should I or should I not do this?

PB bids are coming in this weekend. Cant wait

If that 40k includes a decent amount of decking then I do not think 40k is way off base. We are putting one in as we speak and ours is 16x33 free form and with decking will be close to 38k, this price does not include electrician, permits, water etc....

Yeah, a standard 18x36 with decking of 4' on sides and 8' on the end runs about $28-32k here...