Algae - DRIVING ME CRAZY

aonis

Apr 22, 2013
Florida
Hi!

I am a novice pool person. I've been down in Miami visiting my mother who usually has a perfectly clean pool but had developed and Algae bloom by the time I arrived and we've been trying to trouble shoot this thing now for 7 days. Here is what I think led to the problem:

- She had a pool guy but couldn't afford the service any more (obvious start) :lol:
- She had an Aquarite automated chlorinator that has malfunctioned and the cell broke
- she then moved over to tablets for chlorine and she had shocked it a few times.

When I got here she had a green pool and was using tablets. I went to the pool guys and every time I go I get a different person but I've been led to do the following:

*** they first said I had too much stabilizer and it was preventing the chlorine from working in the pool.

- I drained 3 ft of water out of the pool and we filled it back up and shocked it.
- I used Aqua Floc and was able to vacuum (to waste) a lot of algae after a few days. this got the pool close to clean but still lightly cloudy
- Now I've been sent down the Phosphate Remover path and am continuously running the filter for 24hrs and will then be putting in Rescue Klear and running filter again continuously.

I apologize for not having my actual readings, but they've been saying everything is normal, except the last visit which showed high phosphates.

PLEASE HELP! I feel like I'm being given product after product without a clear solution.

Good Morning!
You've come to the right place. All the information you need to get things right again are here, including support from people who have been there. Have you read through Pool School yet? There's a link near the top right corner of every page here. It has a LOT of information, but relax- it's not as complicated as it seems.