Recommendations for cedar wood tub

emewilli

LifeTime Supporter
Jan 28, 2013
Portland, Oregon
Hello, I'm a newbie to hot tub ownership and really appreciate all the wonderful advice I've found here. So, first off, thank you to everyone.

My question: I have a new-model old-school cedar soaking tub (I think I got all the right specs in my signature per the forum guidelines) and am looking for any advice folks might have specific to them. I'm aware of some of the down-sides of wood tubs (more expensive to heat and maintain, prone to leaks), but love the look and experience so I went for it. I've searched but haven't seen anything on TFP forums regarding special considerations for wood tubs... Does anyone have any advice? Should any of my levels or products be different from the standard in any way?

My routine: I really enjoy the "pet-ownership" aspect of my tub and am having a blast testing most days and trying to keep all the levels optimized as suggested in Pool School and the forums here. My boyfriend says I'm one step away from turning into Walter White from Breaking Bad, what with all my testing reagents, chemicals, and gear for handling the muriatic acid and such. The day I made my own Soda Ash by baking Baking Soda in the oven he was just plain speechless. Anyway, I'm draining and refilling quarterly, at which time I've been lightly washing the inside, teak oiling the outside, and mineral oiling the top lip. All of which was recommended by the manufacturer and the one guy in the area I could find with actual experience to install it.

My numbers: I have a Taylor test kit; using dichlor and bleach; have added Borates. Current numbers are:
FC = 2 (resting level right now; I add more when folks are coming over and always after soaks... personal pref I'd rather it on the low side if I can?)
CYA = 10 (I know that's a little low, but it's always covered during the day since I practically only soak at night so UV isn't an issue... right?)
pH = 7.5
TA = 80
CH = 180