Do I have algae? Should I react today?

Aug 12, 2012
Tecumseh, MI
Here are the cliffnotes...bought the house and moved in a month ago, first time I've had a pool (15x30 oval, 11,000 ish gallons, large cartridge filter). Thing had been crystal clear our entire month (and 3 months before buying/moving).

Haven't had rain in weeks/all summer up here. Had steady rains Thurs/Friday/into Saturday. Sunday was to be pool cleaning/vacuum day, filter change, etc. Noticed (along with the normal sand debris) on the bottom that there was a yellow-ish powdery substance on the bottom (not on the sides, but around the outside 2-feet of the bottom). Looked kind of like pine tree pollen, but it's really not that time of year (but who knows with the dryness we have had, who knows how dirty that rain was). Things were a little cloudy too. Not knowing if it was aglae or what, we went ahead and brushed the pool down (didn't vacuum) and things REALLY got murky/cloudy.

Being a newbie, I hadn't got into the BBB method yet but did have 1 1/2 pounds of Cal-Hypo shock, so I shocked the pool sunday evening - didn't see any improvement that night, and really not much Monday and don't see much today either. BUT, I noticed the filter cartridges being dirty after one day. Monday it was like 3/4 covered in a "sea green" / yellowish (dare I say, Dijon mustard yellow) substance, today it was only about 1/2 covered (when I say covered, I mean it had areas that were that color of residue on it, but not what I would call "Build Up" on it).

Now, yesterday I DID order the TF100, but for now all I have is a 2-test OTO kit, or some strips that I have on hand from the "spring opening" kit I already ordered/recieved.

Using a little creative engineering, here are the test results I came up with based on what I have on hand:

FC = btwn 6-8
CC = btwn 12-15
TC = 20-ish
CYA = 80-ish
pH = 7.2
TA = 120