Auto-Fill: Must Have or Pain in the Rear?

Texas Spartan

LifeTime Supporter
Apr 22, 2011
I am one day into my second pool build and we have spec'd in an autofill because we would burn up pumps when we leave on vacation with our old pool when the water level got too low. My PB says he hates them because they are unreliable. I was hoping a few experts might weigh in on the topic and help me make a call to install it or leave it out. It's "free" in the contract so it's not an issue of cost but of maintenance and reliability.

Thanks!
Jason

I'm by no means an expert and don't have one myself. I would personally think that if it is a "free" option that I would be inclined to get it and try it, if you don't like it, you could always choose later to not use it... but would cost you later if you decide you want to try it and didn't do it with install.

I like mine. I was down at my brother in laws taking to him and his neighbor and they were both complaining about having to fill up their pools. I just smiled and said that is one thing I don't have to worry about. I went out of town for 10 days and never had to worry about it. Also the way mine is even if it broke I could just turn the valve off at the house and turn it on when I needed it. It seems pretty much a straight forward design and works well so far. It is just a float with a valve next to the pool in what almost looks like a skimmer.

I can speak from my experience only. I am happy that I've got the autofill. I am typically away during the week and can't regularly watch the water level. During one week when the pool got filled, but autofill was not connected, I got the water level very low (evaporation - live in Houston) and pump was sucking air at the skimmers.
Now with autofill working - I am no longer worried when I am away.