Help - confusion reigns!

jimsam

May 14, 2012
Collin County, Texas
I'm still learning the ins and outs of maintaining a pool and I told a friend that my pool was clear but that I can't get the chlorine level over 2. I started seeing a little algae where the MX8 doesn't get to (steps). My friend said there shouldn't be any algae and something is wrong. He sent me a link to a thread explaining how to shock your pool. So, off I went yesterday to begin the process.

First off my pool is between 10,000 and 11,000 gallons and the CC level was between 0 and .5. I put in 2 large jugs of Clorox in the pool at 1 pm yesterday and afterwards the FC was 19 (38 drops/2). I just checked the FC a few minutes ago, 5 pm (28 hours later) and it was between .5 and 1. It barely turned pink when chemicals were added for the test. Is that even possible? I just put in 2 more jugs. This doesn't seem right to me. The CYA is around 40.

I was told to maintain this until CC is 0, but it's already 0. The little algae I had yesterday is gone.

Will I continue to need 2 large jugs of chlorine everyday or will the need slow down? Thanks for any help!

Jim

It's highly possible, and 28 hours is too long to go between tests when you're performing the shock process.

You're done when you pass all three tests, and not until. If you stop too soon, the algae will return, and everything you did was for nothing. The three tests are
CC is 0.5 or lower;
An overnight FC loss test shows a loss of 1.0 ppm or less;
And the water is clear.

Richard,

Thanks. I'll check it again before work tomorrow instead of just after. That will be about every 12 hours. If it still drops drastically, I'll pick up the pace. I just didn't have any clue that it would drop that fast.

Two of the tests pass right now. Water is clear and CC is 0. Hopefully the third will fall in line by the end of the week.

Jim