Robot cleaner for my agp?

Jul 14, 2012
MOD EDIT: I split this thread from this thread, so it could get it's own attention. Thanks, linen(forum moderator)

Hi Everyone.
I just joined this site, read a little and it looks great. I'm new to the whole pool thing - we got into this house 2 years ago and the pool was there already. I saw a ton of posts on this 9300 and it looks great. My pool is a bit smaller, a 5,800 above ground oval shaped pool with a liner in it and with a deck built around it. The pool has a Hayward cartridge filter system and I just buy a new cartridge each year. Cartridge seems to work well. But the floor is a problem. When we first moved in I let the pool store sell me this gigantic hose vacuum thing to attach to the filter to suction everything off the floor (the salesman was probably delighted to see a newbie like me). Well, this contraption just swishes everything around so i have had it spending hours trying to clean it and getting zero results! :grrrr: I'm wondering for a pool my size 5,800 gallons, oval shaped, above ground with a liner in it and a cartridge filter system, I am thinking is a robot cleaner the best way to go? If so, what kind of robot shoud I buy for my type of pool? Thanks again, John (frustrated and seeking HELP!!)

Re: recomendations for automatic pool cleaner - is it worth

I would generally say any robot (electrical powered cleaner) is going to be overkill for the pool that you have.

I am not sure exactly what you have, or if you have it set up right, but I will tell you that pool cleaners come in 3 basic flavors:

1st, suction powered cleaners, the classic example being the original kreepy-krauly and its many clones ranging in price from about $50 for made in china imports on ebay up to $400 for the better brand name models, there are also more mechanised expensive suction powered units like the MX8 mentioned above