Pool using a lot of chlorine

Neal

Jul 11, 2012
SW Michigan
I am new to TFP. I have been googling pool topics, which led me to this forum. I have read the "pool school" twice. I have a gunite pool that was built 10 years ago. Details are in my signature below. We have had very few problems and no major issues with water over the 10 years, but last summer our chlorine useage was up and it is even higher this summer. I decided to take control of this myself, rather than relying on the pool store, and my first step was to buy the recommended TF-100 test kit. It arrived yesterday and I have done my first tests.

As the topic states, my concern or problem is excessive chlorine use. As indicated in the signature below, I use tri-chlor tablets in a new water dispenser. I use Haviland di-chlor granules and liquid chlorine, as needed, which is every 1-2 days this summer. I do have ProTeam Supreme in the pool and have had for 5-7 years. I understand the CYA issue with tri-chlor and di-chlor, but I like the convenience of the New Water automatic dispenser. Simply stated, I am not at the pool daily to add liquid for the duration of the summer.

Here are my first test results from this morning, after adding 1.5 gallons of liquid and 5 cups of di-chlor granular at dusk last evening.

Free chlorine: 7.0 ppm
Combined chlorine: 1.5 ppm
Total chlorine: 8.5 ppm
PH: 7.2
Total Alkalinity: 145 ppm
Calcium Hardness: 290 ppm
CYA: 110 ppm
Borate: 30 ppm

Once again, although I have had the pool for ten year and I am fanatical about using the standard OTO/PH test, I am new to this level of detail. I am not a pool chemistry expert, but let me try my first analysis.