TF100 Test Results Inconclusive- Now What?

kwhyde

Jul 9, 2012
South Carolina
I am new to this pool testing process. I am going to have to "take over" for my husband. He has been adding soooo many chlorine pucks and bags of shock to try to combat algae. Therefore, my sister in law offered to come test using the TF100 kit. She has never seen the results I'll list below. I am wondering if we need to drain or 1/2 drain the pool, fill up, and retest to get some actual viable data to move forward?

FC- did not turn colors...stayed clear, but cloudy
pH- yellow...should have been orange or red
TA- turned pink, not green
CH- 300+ (only added 30 drops, still pink)
CYA- 100+ (immeasurable?)

How bad is it? We have a gunnite pool, approximately 15,000 gallons, clean with a polaris 360 vaccuum, currently using chlorine pucks, shock, and baking soda.

Welcome to TFP!

Your FC is zero. Your PH is way way way too low. Your TA is zero.

The extremely low PH can damage the pool. And you won't be able to deal with the algae until you get the CYA level down to something reasonable.

I suggest you start adding borax (or soda ash, or PH Up) to try to get the PH up to at least 7.0.

Meanwhile, work on replacing some water to get the CYA level down.

Wow....I knew it's bad when I'm seeing sandy material in our vaccuum bag that is from the gunnite being eaten, I'm sure. Do you think draining and replacing 1/2 the water is the first step. Then, add borax and retest? Continue the process until the PH is up?

The PH is really really low. You want to start working on raising it right away. However, it is going to take a number of cycles of add borax, wait for it to mix in, test the PH, and repeat as needed. So you can mix that in-between cycles of draining and replacing water. That is to say, do one round of raising PH, do one round of replacing water, repeat as needed.