AGP purchase...my first post

Jun 14, 2012
My family is looking at purchasing an agp. We were quoted $3500.00 for a 27ft round aqua leader vogue sentinelle 54" kit.
Pool Specs:
top ledge-10"resin
uprights- 8" resin
bottom rails -resin
top& plates-resin
warranty- 60yrs-3yrs@100%

Items included are as follows:
Upgraded liner
Hayward wide mouth skimmer
Jacuzzi 19" sand filter w/ 1hp pump
1 1/2 x 35' vacuum hose
Maint.kit(vac.head,brush,skimmer net vac.pole etc.)
200# filter sand
confer A-frame ladder
Pool cove
Liner gaurd
slabs
winter cover
plastic pump base

Does this sound like a reasonably good deal? I am new to pools and want to do it right the first time. Is it a better choice to purchase online and piece a pool together? If so what are some comparable pools to the above at online stores? Also what online stores come highly recommended in general. Lots of them on google, a bit overwhelmd here. Thanks for any help and assitance giving.

Price sounds okay. I agree with Woody, you will want a much bigger filter than that. In addition, if they will do it, get a 2-speed pump, but 1 hp (3/4 hp might be better) is probably okay if you go with a larger filter.

I may be able to leave out the filter and pump. Which pump and filter do you recommend? I am on well water and live on a dusty road although the pool will be roughly 100 ft.from the road. Would you recommend a sand or cartridge filter? Thanks for the help

nitrobob said:
Would you recommend a sand or cartridge filter?
That is a controversial topic. All three filter types will do the job (DE is the third). I personally like sand, since I find it is the easiest, but others will have reasons for the others.

nitrobob said:
I may be able to leave out the filter and pump. Which pump and filter do you recommend?
For your pool size:
For sand we would recommend at least a 3.2 sq. ft filter (about 24" diameter).
For cartridge we would recommend a 260 sq. ft. filter.
For DE we would recommend a 24 sq. ft. filter.