Do SWGs generate high PH levels and require more acid?

Swampwoman

TFP Expert
LifeTime Supporter
Apr 27, 2012
Grand Rapids, MI
Okay, since I am new to pool ownership, new to BBB, and have no dog in any race (yet), I am debating SWG as an ultimate maintenance-helper acquisition (also up for consideration are periostatic pump vs liquidator, etc. -- one of the 3 is destined to replace the auto puck feeder presently part of my setup ). In a "pool training manual" I ound the following comment from an author.

Is the following: a) Hogwash, b) grain of truth with some spin, or c) truth -- in which case what advantages offset this feature? or d) none/all of the above ;)

What the salesmen wont tell the customer is that salt generated chlorination systems produce a VERY high pH chlorine, about a pH of 13 actually and with this ever increasing pH condition much more Muriatic Acid must be added weekly. The system operates and produces chlorine for as long as the pool pump is operating, 8+ hours per day creating a continuously raising pH condition. To balance and keep the water maintained at a pH balance of 7.4 to 7.6 and keep the chlorine effectively in its killing form almost double the regular amount of acid is required adding substantial additional costs for chemical maintenance as well as a constant pH bounce and a much more unstable Total Alkalinity.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts on the subject.

Not sure about the details they listed. But it is true that a SWG will generally cause pH to rise. However, if you lower your TA you may find a happy balance where the pH does not rise or rises slowly. There are many people here that have SWG and I do not recall reading about any crazy pH and TA fluctuations as your quote seems to imply.

Posted with Tapatalk ... sorry if I sound short ... hate typing on phone :)