Fafco check valve

ixlr8

May 10, 2012
I have an old Fafco solar system (approx. 20) years) and I have a check valve that has gone bad, at least I believe that is the case. When the filter shuts off I have DE draining back into the pool. Anyway, I've been told by a couple of people in the field that I need to replace the entire pluming setup ($800.00) because you can no longer buy these check valves. I find this hard to believe.

Does anyone know if these valves are still available and where I might be able to purchase one.

Thank you.

Maybe it doesn't have to be, I was told that they are no longer manufactured by Fafco in this style. I've just started my investigation as to whether this is true or not. As for the $800.00, the quote did include a new controller in addition to replacement of the piping. I just find it hard to believe that you need to upgrade all of these components because a check valve is out of date.

Here is a picture of the setup. I'm not really experienced at this, so I'm not entirely sure which check valve is failing. I can tell you that when the pump is shut off and water is draining back. There are two pipes in the upper left of the picture that have been painted orange, the bottom of the two (the one without the grey check valve) makes a chattering noise when the water is draining back. Anyway, are these valves interchangeable and does anyone know if this would be the the valve that is failing?

Thanks.

Attachments

• DSCF0013.JPG
    DSCF0013.JPG
    322.6 KB · Views: 111
It looks like you're missing a valve where the black rubber patch on the discharge of the filter is. That valve should be there to divert the water to the solar panels. If you have a controller it will be an actuated valve.

I'm not sure what the gray thing is. I assume a check valve and if it is, you can replace it with a standard PVC check valve.