Fayetteville, NC
Did my 1st tests with TF100 last night.

13200 gal
FC 2.5
PH 7.8
TA 130
CH250
CYA 50

I wanted to go up to 8 FC, Pool Calculater said add 151oz of 6% bleach. I added whole 182oz of Wal-Mart 6% bleach. Tests now are

FC 14
PH 7.8
CYA 50
CC was 0 on both tests.

Why did it raise the FC so much?? Great website and forum, BTW. Pool was installed in November so I'm still learning :)

Well, that sounds about right, also. The next best guess is if you are new to the test kit, a testing error is a common issue. review the steps....did you multiply X.5 to get the answer?

Welcome to tfp, darylfoot :wave:
darylfoot said:
It was 28 drops. The test was taken 2.5 hrs later. Pump is running 24-7 til I get a timer this weekend. I'll test again tomorrow when I get off work
This has me stumped (a possibly silly question for you...you don't have a swg or other chlorinator running, or perhaps a floater or forgotten pucks in skimmer by any chance?)...let us know what your next results are.

Haven't I read somewhere on the forum that bleach is commonly stronger than the % listed on the label? Stronger bleach together with a slightly over estimated pool volume could cause the anomaly...

Haven't I read somewhere on the forum that bleach is commonly stronger than the % listed on the label?
No, I think you have to be concerned that it is possibly weaker but seldom, if ever, stronger.

MY LQ guy said the 12% I use is manufactured at around 14% but that it quickly starts to lose strength and by the time it gets to the consumer, is right around 12ppm......and they buy chlorine twice weekly.

However, that 12% chlorine weakens MUCH quicker than 6% so it will last on the shelves of the store and in your garage quite a bit longer (weeks) but it does slowly weaken.

I do remember a chart someone posted showing the degradation but I searched and didn't find.

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support
decom_graph.bmp