Equipment help/suggestions needed

ATXCO2

Apr 21, 2012
Brief history.. I am not a complete noob with regards to pools, but growing up I learned from my Dad to throw chlorine pellets in the float and put liquid acid in when water testing said it was necessary (in ground pool btw). Anyway, now I am looking at having my own in ground pool installed and I am looking to be a little less slap-dash about the whole thing.

The pool will be using a pebble type coating instead of plaster or quartz, and will probably be in the 20~25k gallon range. Or house faces N/S so the sun will make a full pass over the pool, and since we are in a brand new subdivision there are no large trees or pretty much any other type of sun blocking going on.

So, what I am looking at is an Ozone/CO2 setup. I am trying to stay away from salt for various reasons (residue, damage to coping material etc)

I have done a fair bit of reading (I am sure its never enough) but I am looking for some advice from someone other than the pool salesman. To his credit he is affiliated with a large pool company but they are willing to buy and install pretty much whatever I want. They are not cramming any one brand of equipment down my throat.

I have found a guy not too far from Austin that sells various ozonation configurations and I am looking at one that will deliver about 4gr/hr http://www.ozonepurewater.com/Ozonators.htm#2

I am also looking at a CO2 as a stand-in for the more traditional liquid acid.

I have been looking at something like the CAT 2000 to control the CO2 and Ozone. The "pool guy" is suggesting a Jandy unit (Aqualink RS I believe but don't have his email in front of me at the moment) and I am not sure how one compares to the other.

I have also read a few posts on here that seem to be, well maybe anti-ozone is a bit much, but definitely not proponents of ozone.

So I am looking for feedback. Anyone running CO2? Is ozone really not effective, even in relatively high concentrations?