Questions About Dogs and Pools

May 18, 2008
Sacramento, CA area
Hi TFP Folks!

I'm not sure where this should go, so thought I'd just put it here. I'm not a pool newbie, but this is a new situation for me. We have a couple of new canine additions to our family, and I have a few questions about how to ensure their health and safety in and around the pool.

My major concern is about them drinking the water. One of them, Fionna, is a Border Collie. So far (she was around the pool some as a pup last summer), she seems to have no interest in swimming, but thinks of the pool as a giant water bowl. She also likes to play "Bite the Water," which involves sitting on the top step, splashing with her front paws and trying to bite the spray (silly!). I'm hoping she will actually get into swimming this year, but we'll see... The other one, Seamus, is a Border Collie/Brittany mix. He did swim a bit last September before it got too cold.

Anyhow, my question would be about safe levels of various chemicals for the dogs, and in particular, safe chlorine levels. (I use your BBB method.) I suppose it would not be much different than for children, although I know that there are differences in skin pH between humans and dogs, and you could tell children not to drink the water and get them to understand that, but there's no way we're going to be able to keep Fionna from drinking it. (She did barf after drinking too much a few times last summer.)

Neither of these dogs shed much, so I'm not too worried about dog hair in the pool, but I am concerned about what I can do to make it as safe as possible for them. The pool is also fenced, and there is no access to it without humans to open the gate, so they will always be supervised when in the pool area. I've thought about getting one of those pool ladders for animals, but don't know how useful they really are. The pool is in-ground plaster, so there's no worry about them damaging a liner, either.