Wiring of two speed pump?

EricD

Apr 5, 2012
Hey all,

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me. This is my first time on here, also first time owning a pool. My pump went out, and I bought a new two speed pump. The pump I was replacing was single speed, but at some point prior to me buying this house there must of been a two speed pump on it because I do have a relay that activates when I push the "low speed" button (verified this with volt meter). The pump was out for quite some time, so my primary focus was to get it working to get my pool cleaning. Because I don't know exactly how to hook up the two speed since the previous pump only had wiring for a single speed, this is what I did:..... The pump has four wires coming from it labeled as follows, 1 (common), 2 high speed, 3-4 low speed, and ground wire. The pump is currently wired for 220v, and the wires I currently have in the conduit from the electrical box was the two legs of the 220v (110v each) and a ground. Both legs come from the "filter pump" relay. I connected one to the common (slot 1), and the other to "high speed" (slot 2), and the ground to ground. I then ran another wire through the conduit and connected it to "low speed" (3-4) and have it dead in my electrical box so I would have it when I figured out where to put it. I figured by doing this, at least I would have high speed working and be able to clean my pool as if I had a single speed pump. Did all this, and it works......but I feel like it is running slow which brings me to my question. Do I have to have the wire for low speed hooked up to get high speed out of my pump? Sounds like a stupid question, but I feel like it is currently running at low speed, even though the only terminal I have connected is the one marked high speed. If I do need it hooked up, can anyone tell me how to wire it to the relay, because currently, the only wire going to that relay right now is my heater, and it is connected to the NC (normally close) terminal. Wh