Ratio of BBB for AGP

Jan 26, 2008
I am complete newby to BBB and need to know in very simple terms what amounts do I use for an AGP 18X33,
18000 gallons I think. It has had no chemicals added( fresh water ) Just had the pool refilled.
Please will someone explain to me like I was 5 years old ???????
Thanks.

Step one is to get a good test kit. I recommend the TF Test Kit, see the link in my signature. The Taylor K-2006 is also good.

Good goal levels for an above ground pool are PH 7.4-7.6, FC 3-7, TA 70-90, CYA 30-50, don't worry about calcium you don't need it. You test the water and adjust the levels as needed. Test chlorine and PH daily, preferably in the evening. The others can be tested much less often once they are in range.

With the pool just filled there probably isn't any CYA. You will need 6 lbs of stabilizer to raise the CYA level. Put it in a sock and hang that in front of the return or toss it in the skimmer (but be sure it doesn't block the skimmer).

For the first few days, while the CYA level is coming up, add one 96 oz jug (3 quarts) of 6% unscented bleach to the pool every evening. Pour the bleach slowly in front of a return with the pump running. Leave the pump running for at least an hour after adding any chemicals. Once the CYA level starts to come up, say two days after adding it, you will need to test the FC level each evening and add enough bleach to bring FC up to 5 or 6.

TA is raised with baking soda. With a little luck you won't need to do much adjusting of the PH but if you do, borax raises PH and muriatic acid lowers PH.

When you get a test kit, post your numbers and we can give you more advice.

Good luck and feel free to ask more questions.

OK, thanks for your help.
So I think I have it.

Bleach for sanitizer and shock
Baking soda to raise alkalinity
Washing soda when you need to raise both PH and alkalinity
Borax to raise just PH
!!!!!
Is it correct that sodium carbonate and sodium bicarbonate are different ?