Once per week maintenance....

Dec 16, 2011
Ok so I just finished my pool... I plan on maintaining it myself.... I have a test kit that you all recommend.. TF100.... and I have been doing everything under pool school and my water has been very clear...
Now, I have a friend of mine that has a small above ground pool... around 9,500 gallons and she asked me to maintain it for her.... she can't find anyone willing to do it from a pool company around here.. So I told her I'm still learning but I'll help out.... She doesn't want to do anything but swim in it... So, how do the big pool companies do maintenance on a pool once a week? everything I've read says you need a little maintenance everyday.... but I'm not going over to her house everyday.... no way... so how do they keep your water clear only going out once a week?

The companies around here jack the CYA up really high 100++ and then once a week put a LOT of FC in (some use CL gas) and hope that there is still some left when they come back. Not sure what they do for pH control (I am guessing not much). {EDIT: they sometimes try to go 2 weeks actually}

So right after they come the FC is really high (maybe not good to swim in) and right before they come the FC may be too low (not safe to swim in?).

Is she willing to invest in a SWG? At least then the FC level should be more stable and you could just verify pH/etc on a weekly basis.

I agree that a swg might be good here. I hope this is a really good friend cause hearing her wanting nothing to do with the pool but swim would scare me away from helping her. I like the saying..."Help others, help themselves"...but when that doesn't work, for pools, it is probably best they pay someone else to do it. I am surprised she can't find a pool company.

Well she said she tried to find someone... She claims they don't want to deal with a small pool like hers...