Pool vacuum question

cood60

Platinum Supporter
Silver Supporter
LifeTime Supporter
Jan 20, 2012
Virginia Beach
Hi, I have a pool vacuum question:
I am new to pools. Have had my new pool for a few months, been using an auto cleaner.
Decided I better make sure I know how to use the manual vacuum so I tried it today.
My pool is 25K, vinyl, with 2 skimmers, 3 returns plus two more at the steps. Two speed Hayward pump, Sand filter with Zeobrite.
I am afraind this pool is not plummed correctly
To vacuum I followed the following steps:
Pump off, hooked up suction hose to one skimmer
Turned on the pump and filled the hose by sticking it against a return
Closed off the other skimmer.
Two main drains are wide open
The vauum seems to work but suction seems low.
So I closed the main drains about half way. No difference in suction but I noticed the pump started making some noise
I noticed the pump pressure would go from 16 to 8 when the main drains are half to 3/4 closed
The strainer at the pump had lots of air until I turned the main drain back to wide open
I did try closing the main drains all the way, no change in suction
The pool co told me at my orientation, to be careful not to close the main drains too far as the vacume might suck up the vinyl.....not a chance
When i remove the lid from the pump strainer, the water level goes down and must prime itself when turned back on.
The lid has a warning that says to fill the reservoir, before starting the pump....this is not possible as all the water poured in simply dissapears
Any ideas? Thanks, Cush Dobbs

As a first step, submerge the hose without it attached to the skimmer, if you have it attached and use the return to fill it with water you are essentially adding air into the pump, which is perceived as a bad thing.

My routine consists of...

1) Shutting the main drain off 3/4
2) hooking the hose up to the vacuum head which is attached to the pole.