I might be Crazy?

Dec 31, 2011
We live in Wisconsin and my wife wants to be able to use an IGP all year. I have some idea's but I thought I would see if any of the experts think it is possible. This will be new construction for home and pool and we are going to have Geothermal Heat for home so the loop will be installed if it makes sense to heat pool with same. Oh yea it's damm cold most of the time. :party:

Cheers,
Patrick

Hi, Patrick,

Welcome to the forum. :lol:

The amount of energy required to heat a pool is stunning compared to heating your home. You would need FAR more btu's to keep an IG pool swimmable in Wisconsin than you might think.

As a btu rookie, I had visions of heating my pool with a whole house wood heater.......there were not enough trees in North Carolina to do what I wanted!! :shock: :shock: Granted, I have a very large pool but the energy required is enormous.

Perhaps a dumb question, but are you referring to an enclosed IGP or one fully exposed to the elements?
I've seen several people here in northern Ontario (ie: cold) with IGP's used all year but they are enclosed in a pool room, an IGP open to the elements isn't gonna happen, well, I guess it could but man, you'd have to throw a tremendous amount of heat at the thing.

You guys are TOTALLY missing the point here!

May I be the first to congratulate your wife on her (as yet to be incorporated into the design)...............enclosed hot tub.
My condolences to Rocksolidfloors.

You could use an inflatable plastic dome.

http://www.poolsinc.com/pool-domes.html

http://www.aquashield.com/

http://www.websweeper.com/php/pool_domes/do-001.php

523991.jpg

Find a heating and cooling guy that is extremely knowlageble in geothermal before you do it. Water is the hardest thing to heat. Had a friend built an enclosed pool it was going to take 22 wells to do the pool alone. That was in Missouri

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support