Nightly bleach chores?...

Magnew

LifeTime Supporter
Oct 23, 2011
Orlando, FL
Hello all:

I am a newbie at the BBB method, and just went thru Pool School. Great stuff!

I have always had a problem keeping enough FC in the pool. FC reads just about "zero" all the time, even though I have my Rainbow chlorinator turned all the way up to the max. At my low flow rates, I'm lucky to go thru one or two pucks a week. I could increase the run time of the pump, but I don't want to do that just yet.

One day, I hope to install a SWG, if my pump can take the additional head. That is uncertain based on what little knowledge I have of what it adds to the TDH.

Which leads me to my question...do you all go out to the pool every night, take readings, and then pour in the appropriate amount of bleach? Or am I missing something? Seems like a lot of work, but that is what I am about to do, I suppose.

Thanks,

When the weather was consistently sunny and hot I would only do a basic OTO test every other day. 99% of the time I had to add 4 ppm bleach per day and 11 oz of acid every other day. If the weather changed or was cloudy I would do an additional test that day. With the cooler weather now I have not been adding as much bleach, and yesterday I had to add none. This is my first year using BBB method. BTW - I would usually do a full test about once every 2 to 3 weeks.

For me: