Pool timer stopped working

Weston

Jul 25, 2010
My pool timer stopped working. It stopped turning. It is one of those 24hr round yellow timers. From what I've read online I think it is an Intermatic although I don't see the name on it anywhere. It sounds like it is still working. I can hear it buzzing but none of the gears are moving. I'm guessing the motor has burned out...I guess.

Here are my questions...

I'm running a 1.5hp pump. I am trying to figure out what the voltage is without a meter. Any idea how to do that just by looking at the timer and pump?

Should I replace the whole inside or just the motor?

Where can I get these things? Home depot or lowes or only pool stores?

Any other insite would be greatly appreciated as I am not that technically savvy.

Tried to attach a picture but too large. It looks just like this. Except it's a metal cover not plastic.
http://www.amazon.com/Intermatic-T104R3 ... 25&sr=8-15

Thanks,
Weston

It's a pretty easy fix. HD and Lowes should both have the timer and they aren't very expensive.

To figure out what the voltage is look at the pump motor. If you can read the data plate, you can find the voltage. If it lists dual voltage then look at your breaker box and see if the pump uses a single or a double pole breaker to power the unit. If it's single it's 120 volts, if it's a double pole, it 240 volts.