When should I run my solar heater???

BBBliever

TFP Expert
LifeTime Supporter
Jul 2, 2011
Central Califorina
This is my first year with an AGP and as fall is approaching I will be installing a 4x20 fafco solar panel to my 2000 gallon AGP tomorrow.

Current day time highs reach the low 90's upper 80'S in my area of California. With a solar cover my pool is around 85 deg. by the end of the day. I know the temps will be falling fast soon and want to make the season last as long as possible for my 3 y/o daughter.

What temperature ranges should I look for to run my solar panels. Lets say the minimum temperature I want to maintain is 70 deg. At what ambient air temperature would I run the solar panel. I have heard automatic solar controllers kick the panels on when the ambient air is 10 deg. higher the water temp. Is that the guideline I should follow?

Maybe this will be covered in the Fafco instructions but I was looking for some experience from the board. Thanks for your time.

I typically run mine when the sun is out and it is on the panels (I have shade from about noon and after ~8 pm in summer), even if the ambient temp is lower than the pool water. Also, I have found that when it is cloudy, as long as the ambient temp is equal(close to) or higher than the pool temp, I get a net heating effect due to some solar coming through the clouds.

Some of this stuff I figured out by measuring my pool temp and measuring my return temp under different conditions.