High TA

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to pool ownership - we just had ours put in in early August. The company that sold me the pool set me up with a lot of products - Dazzle "Pure and Simple" is the line...it's kind of confusing. Everything is prominently branded Dazzle and "Pure + Simple" but there's not a lot of info as to what's in the containers. Even the pool company got confused because I had a UV light and that meant I should be using some different flavour of Dazzle. Anyway...to make a long story a little less long... :)

The last test I had done at the pool store (Aug 23):

73800 L / 19500 Gal In-Ground, Vinyl lined

TC: 5
FC: 5
pH: 7.6 (Target 7.4-7.6)
CYA: 80 (Target 30-50)
TA: 140
Adj TA: 114 (Target 125-150)
Ca: 232 (Target 175-225)
Borate: 31

They recommended I add 3.5 Kg of Dazzle TA+
Up until last week I was chlorinating with Dazzle Tri-chlor sticks.

I came back from a short trip to Minneapolis with a TF-100 test kit. My wife's aunt was supposed to throw a couple of sticks in the skimmer while we were away, but she didn't and we got a couple of inches of rain, and things were pretty murky when I got back. Reading 0 Chlorine in the pool. I hadn't opened the TF-100 yet, but threw in a couple of bags of the Dazzle weekly shock/oxidizer (not chlorine, but it doesn't really say what it is - safe to swim after 15 minutes apparently). It was Labour Day so I couldn't buy any bleach so just added 3 sticks to the skimmer - which didn't do anything for the chlorine levels in the pool.

I got out the TF-100 and ran the numbers through the pool calc last Tuesday, bought a bunch of bleach and got the pool up to shock level quickly by adding 20 L of 4% bleach. Everything cleared up quickly and looks great, but my TA seems really high. Here are my numbers as of Friday night (Sept 9).

FC 10
CC 0
TA: 225
CYA 45
pH 7.5
CH 220
Borate 30