Getting a fair contract from pool builder for inground pool?

MattM

Platinum Supporter
LifeTime Supporter
Jul 14, 2011
San Diego, CA
After months of research, discussions with pool builders, and receiving proposals - my wife and I have finally decided on our pool design and selected a pool builder for our home in San Diego.

Only thing holding us up at this point is the contract.

The one that was sent to us appears to be entirely one sided (no big surprise).

Given that I have zero experience with construction, I thought I'd see if there was a generic contract available somewhere or a clear list of common contract clauses to watch out for or ensure are added?

The pool will cost $64,999 and we'll be procuring an automatic pool safety cover directly from manufacturer $(~8K) plus installing a solar heating system $(~6.5K) for a total project cost of ~$79,500.

I'm naturally a little risk adverse getting into this...

Re: Getting a fair contract from pool builder for inground p

Watch out for the extras, i.e. if they are going to build a deck around the pool, they normally indicate how many square feet. Put in the contract the price of deck per square feet for overages. Also make sure anything that has the potential of overages, it is well defined in the contract stating how much per unit for overages. I got stuck with a $9/sq ft bill on overages on my deck where the standard rate around here is $4-5.

For that much money, you should hire an attorney look at it. Even if he charges you $500, it's probably worth it for the peace of mind.

Wow! That's a lot of $$ to invest in a pool!

I thin Rockhopper has a good idea to have an attorney get involved to make sure that you are safe.