Diamond Brite White Blotches?

Jun 30, 2011
Long Beach, CA
Hi there, I'm a newbie to this site but it seems like there is a lot of knowledge here which I'm hoping will help me. (Too bad I didn't know about this site before).

Anyways, recently we had our pool totally remodeled to the point that it is now a brand new pool. We chose French Grey Diamond Brite for the plaster and it was applied the middle of March (of course the one weekend we were out of town). We followed the directions of our pool contractor exactly. I believe we waited about a week with the pump off, brushing the pool twice a day with a nylon brush, then another 2 weeks with the pump running, brushing twice a day. After the 3 weeks were up he added the salt. He told us to brush occasionally but 2 times a day was no longer needed. The problem is that we seem to still have these white blotches that he said would go away over time. He claims it could take months, or even up to a year. Recently I tried adding a few extra gallons of Muratic acid, left the pump off, and brushed 2 times daily for 4 days. The plaster guy told me this should make the blotches go away. But it didn't, and I'm wondering what is "normal" and if these guys are just feeding me a line to try and get me out of their hair.

After reading more about this on the web, I'm wondering what my options are to resolve this issue and hopefully get rid of the blotches. Do I have to get the pool completely emptied or would another (or longer) acid bath work? What does normal "mottling" look like, maybe this is as good as it gets? Help please! :cry:

PS> I'm trying to attach a picture so you can see the blotches but the file upload doesn't want to work right now.

Thanks for your quick input Jason and Rob!