good equipment or bad equipment?

midtngal

Silver Supporter
LifeTime Supporter
Oct 26, 2007
Nashville, TN

Newbie here! :wave: Been lurking for a month or so as I am in the process of building my pool and am a new pool owner wanting to make sure I'm not being taken for a ride! After reading the thread on chemical free pools in the stickies, I'm a little nervous. My PB will be installing a Bioguard Mineral Springs automatic chlorinator with a sand filter (TR50 Pac Fab), and a 3/4 HP Pac Fab pump. Am I reading this correctly that this chlorinator will put metals in my pool? :? Does this equipment sound correct? Thanks in advance for any advice!!

The hardware that comes with the BioGuard Mineral Springs system is just fine. They give you a very good SWG. The chemical packets that go with the Mineral Springs system, Beginnings and Renewal, are mostly dramatically overpriced salt combined with a few other chemicals that you don't need but which won't cause any serious problems. They don't include any metals as far as I know, despite the way other vendors use the word "mineral".

If you want to have exactly the same effect as using renewal you want to maintain your salt level at about 3200 ppm using ordinary water softener pellets or solar salt (not rock salt) that is at least 99.5% pure and has no additives for rust removal or cleaning the softener tank, etc. (I use the solar salt because it dissolves faster). You want to make sure you maintain the CYA close to 80 ppm since you wil lose a bit of both salt and CYA each time you backwash the sand filter . Finally, the 'magic' ingredient in Renewal is borax! Maintaining a 30-50 ppm borate concentration in the water, combined with maintaining an uncorrected total alkalinity of 70-90 ppm will help increase pH stability, reduce acid consumption, lessen your chlorine demand which will increase your cell life, and will act as an algaestat! Good stuff!