Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to high

Jun 25, 2011
I am very new to pool maintenance and am having trouble raising the chlorine to the proper level in the pool. Both my free and total chlorine are only 0.5 ppm and the SWG is set at the max setting. Should I shock the pool by adding chlorine to boost it? My salt level is fine, it tested at 3,500 ppm.

Also, the pool is less than a year old and about 13,000 gallons, I usually take the water to a pool store on a weekly basis and have it tested. It seems like every week I need to add 3 to 4 cups of muratic acid, is that normal?

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

It is also important to let us know how long your pump runs each day. The salt cell only works to generate chlorine while the pump is running, so short run time means less chlorine.

I run my pump usually about nine hours a day, the water is pretty clear. I've recently been getting what I believe is a yellow algae around the sides I thought it was from the low chlorine level. What the the vacuum misses I can brush off fairly easily.

The latest levels I have are below:

TC: 0.5
FC: 0.5
CC: 0.0
PH: 8.0
TA: 90

Is there anything else I should test for?

Thanks guys

It is important to know your CYA level. It is not nearly as important, but useful to know the CH level.

Your PH is a little high, and should be lowered to 7.5, but that wouldn't have anything to do with your current issues.

Yes, CYA is Stabilizer.

Inadequate pool store testing is one of the main reasons we advocate your own reliable test kit.

You need it in order to do an overnight FC loss test, to determine if organics are consuming the chlorine which is making it impossible for the cell to keep up (I suspect that is the case.)

frustratedpoolmom said:
Yes, CYA is Stabilizer.

Inadequate pool store testing is one of the main reasons we advocate your own reliable test kit.