Wire gauge for long speaker runs?

Bart

LifeTime Supporter
Jan 24, 2010
Northern Virginia
I'm about to install some outdoor speakers on the far side of my pool (from the house). It's about a 250 foot run from the amp to the speakers. Does anyone have any advice for the proper speaker gauge?

The local Paradigm dealer was recommending 12 or even 9 gauge, which he sells for $4/foot!!! I checked out what an electronics big box store had and the largest they had was 16 gauge. The guy in there told me that with the low resistance and efficencies of modern speakers, you didn't need to go larger than 16 gauge. He said he's been in the home theather design business for 30 years (to give credibility to his statement).

So what does anyone think? Is 16 gauge big enough for a 250 foot cable run?

Hey, here's an idea for you... I've done this on high-powered systems and it WORKS. (I was a sound engineer for a band for 7 years, and owned a roller rink for more than 20).

Get stranded electrical wire from your Home Depot / Lowe's / etc. It's far cheaper. The bigger gauge the better but 14 would be minimum IMO. You could go up to 10 gauge if you wanted. MAKE SURE YOU GET STRANDED, NOT SOLID. If you are burying it, you can even get the stuff for outdoor use.

Wow that's a very long run. I'd definitely get the heaviest gauge wire you're willing buy. Like RobbieH said, stranded will make life a lot easier. Also, don't sweat the expensive wire gimmicks, home depot/lowes etc... is going to be fine.

Here is a link that a number of folks on home theater forums reference when it comes to speaker wire gauge/general info http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm. Scroll down a little you'll see a chart that reads "Maximum Wire Lengths For TWO CONDUCTOR Copper Wire"