cloudy and light green pool is not good for mothers day :(

michmike

LifeTime Supporter
Apr 11, 2011
Houston, TX, USA
hey guys,

i know this is something you see all the time in here, but for some reason i can't get my pool to get rid of the light green color/ cloudiness. 3 days ago i installed a SWG and the salinity test reports 3700ppm.
All my other chemicals are correct. I have been maintaining my pool myself for 2 years and this is my first time i can't get rid of this cloudiness [fyi i read all of the content here on tfp pool school]. My filter grids are brand new as of this past saturday. I have to say the pool color has improved but it is not clear yet. I have been running the pump 24/7 the past 3 days to get rid of this to no avail.

FC is a light high because of shock :5
Ph 7.5
TA 85
CH 300
CYA 40
Salt 3700
Phosphates: were 200 but i added 2 capfulls of phosphree on sunday, so it should be close to 0 now. My goal is to add 2 more capfulls on friday of phosphree
---> FYI all the above numbers are within limits of my SWG manufacturer. I know your site recommends CYA 70-80 but the SWG manufacturer says 30-60.

What else can i do to get rid of this cloudiness. i am thinking of setting the SWG to superchlorinate, but my FC is already high. I want to have the pool ready for mothers day because i have guests and I am getting desperate. the pool store people would try to sell me that "Free and Clear" product, but i am not so sure. i bought it before and it did very little.

Re: cloudy and light green pool is not good for mothers day

Welcome to TFP!

With CYA at 40, having FC at 5 is not high, it just about right for day to day use without a SWG, hardly anything close to killing off active algae, which takes something more like 15 to 20.

If you want to clean up the water quickly, bring the FC level up to 20 and run the pump 24/7 until the water clears up. Meanwhile, brush the entire pool and backwash/clean out the filter as needed.