Pool School vs. Salt Water Pool

Apr 14, 2011
The Bluegrass State
Now that I'm vacuuming my way to a clean pool, it's time to start with water treatment. I've been reading the Pool School, but it never mentions salt water pool applications in the tutorials and why is there no section on opening an in ground pool?

Anyway, I'm trying to figure a plan forward for late next week when I get back from a business trip. I tested my water with the kit left by the previous owner. Numbers are:

TH - 200
FC - 0
PH - 8.4
TA - Off the charts... Some number above 240.
CTA - 0

The water is pretty clear - a little cloudy - but the rain last night and today hasn't helped, for sure. But now I'm stumped. I know when I add salt the SWG will take care of the FC part and probably start messing with a bunch of theother chemistry, but that's not even my question.

Put simply, do I add the salt first and let the chlorine sort itself out and THEN work on the other water levels or vice versa? As a complete newb, the Pool School section would be more helpful if it had a "How To Open An Inground Pool" and included that question.

As an aside, I think once I have the answer to that question, I can re-enroll and get a bit further down the road without bothering the forum members.

Many thanks!

I guess that the reason that there is no "How To Open Your Pool" sticky is because virtually everyone's needs are a little bit different when opening. No one opens their pool to the exact same chemistry as the next person's, so one blanket group of bullet points will not suffice on their own.